Petition to support the Declaration of the Voices-Voix Coalition

Body 

Individual Signatories: (5250)

This petition is now closed. Thanks for your support!

Since 2006 the Government of Canada has systematically undermined democratic institutions and practices, and has eroded the protection of free speech, and other fundamental human rights. It has deliberately set out to silence the voices of organizations or individuals who raise concerns about government policies or disagree with government positions. It has weakened Canada’s international standing as a leader in human rights. The impact and consequences for the health of democracy, freedom of expression, and the state of human rights protection in Canada are unparalleled.

Organizations that disagree with the Government’s positions and/or engage in advocacy have had their mandates criticized and their funding threatened, reduced or discontinued. In many cases these organizations have a long history of service to the public, such as KAIROS, MATCH International, the Canadian Council for International Co-operation, Alternatives, the Canadian Arab Federation, the Climate Action Network, the National Association of Women and the Law and the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women. The Court Challenges Program, which funded many human-rights cases, has had its mandate drastically reduced. The Women’s Program at Status of Women Canada now effectively excludes many women’s groups that conduct research and work to advance women’s equality and participation in society.

Individuals have been personally sanctioned in response to their efforts to defend democratic and human rights principles. Linda Keen, President of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission and three managers from the highly respected organization Rights and Democracy have all been summarily dismissed. Peter Tinsley, Chair of the Military Police Complaints Commission, was not renewed in his position. Diplomat Richard Colvin was intimidated and derided for his parliamentary testimony about the torture of Afghan detainees handed over by the Canadian military. Partisan appointments to the board of directors of Rights and Democracy resulted in the resignation of internationally renowned board members and have thrown the organization into crisis.

Further, an unprecedented level of secrecy now shrouds a long list of government activities and decisions, making it increasingly difficult for the public to hold the government accountable across a range of fundamentally important issues. Robert Marleau, the Federal Information Commissioner, has reported that access to information regarding government action has been restricted. Diplomats, leaders of governmental agencies, public officials, senior military officers, and scientists at Environment Canada are being pressured to obey a law of silence and censored from communicating to the Canadian public.

The Government has eroded freedom of the press by exercising central control of the information available to journalists. It abused the right to prorogue Parliament in order to avoid serious allegations that the Canadian military has been complicit in the torture of Afghan detainees.

The Government has taken positions domestically and within such key international bodies as the UN General Assembly and the UN Human Rights Council that undermine essential human rights, environmental and other global principles. The government’s actions have set back or weakened crucial international human rights initiatives such as global protection of the rights of Indigenous peoples, a worldwide moratorium on executions, more effective protection of human rights in the Middle East, protection against torture, the rights of gays and lesbians, the rights of women, and the rights of children. Among many distressing examples, since the Supreme Court of Canada found that Canada is responsible for continuing violations of Omar Khadr’s human rights, the government’s response has been grossly inadequate and a source of shame on the world stage.

In this context, Canadian democratic institutions, civil society organizations, and human rights defenders have been weakened, marginalized and silenced. Their capacity to monitor and safeguard the respect for democracy, free speech, and other rights is in jeopardy. The quality and health of democratic life in Canada is under serious threat.

United, we call upon the Government of Canada to:

1. Respect the right to freedom of opinion and expression

Therefore,

  • Cease to deliberately target those who speak out against government policies with the use of smear campaigns, dismissal from employment, funding cuts, blatant and subtle threats, regulations designed to obfuscate and prevent public debate, and other acts of bad faith.
  • Commit to parliamentary hearings that address widespread concerns about the loss of democratic space in Canada.

2. Act in accordance with Canada’s democratic traditions and values

Therefore,

  • Actively promote and support political diversity and public debate, instead of avoiding it.
  • Recognize and respect the vital role, expertise, and necessary independence of civil society organizations.

3. Be transparent

Therefore,

  • Demonstrate full respect for and accountability to the Parliament of Canada and the Canadian People.
  • Allow complete access for Canadians to information regarding public policy decisions.
  • Base funding decisions for government and civil society organizations on fair standards and democratic principles, instead of partisan agendas.

Pétition en appui à la Déclaration de la coalition Voices-Voix

Onglets principaux

Body 

Signataires individuels : (5250)

Cette pétition est maintenant fermée. Merci pour votre appui !

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement du Canada mine systématiquement les institutions et les pratiques démocratiques, la libre expression ainsi que d’autres droits humains fondamentaux. Il a délibérément entrepris de faire taire les organismes et les individus qui soulèvent des inquiétudes sur les politiques du gouvernement ou qui sont en désaccord avec les positions gouvernementales. Il a affaibli le statut de leader international en matière de droits humains du Canada. Les impacts et les conséquences sur la santé de la démocratie, la liberté d'expression et l'état de la protection des droits humains au Canada sont sans égal.

Les organismes qui ont fait pression et/ou qui expriment un désaccord face aux positions du gouvernement ont vu leur mandat critiqué et leur financement menacé, réduit ou interrompu. La plupart de ces organismes offrent leurs services au public depuis plusieurs années, comme c’est le cas pour KAIROS, MATCH International, le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale, Alternatives, la Fédération Canado-Arabe, le Réseau action climat, l’Association nationale Femmes et Droit, et l’Institut canadien de recherches sur les femmes. Le Programme de contestation judiciaire du Canada, qui a financé plusieurs causes relatives aux droits humains, s’est vu imposer une diminution drastique de son mandat. Le Programme de promotion de la femme de Condition féminine Canada exclue désormais bon nombre de groupes de femmes qui font de la recherche et qui œuvrent pour l’égalité des femmes et leur participation dans la société.

On a sanctionné des individus en réponse à leurs activités de défense des principes des droits humains et des droits démocratiques. Linda Keen, présidente de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, ainsi que trois gestionnaires de Droits et Démocratie, organisation hautement estimée, ont tous subi un congédiement sommaire. Le mandat de Peter Tinsley, Président de la Commission d'examen des plaintes concernant la police militaire, n’a pas été renouvelé. Le diplomate Richard Colvin a fait l’objet d’intimidation et de dérision suite à son témoignage parlementaire sur la torture infligée aux détenus afghans livrés à l’armée afghane par les militaires canadiens. Les nominations partisanes au conseil d’administration de Droits et Démocratie ont mené à la démission de membres du conseil reconnus internationalement et ont plongé l’organisation dans une crise.

De plus, bon nombre d’activités et de décisions gouvernementales sont maintenant enveloppées d’une atmosphère de secret sans précédent; il est donc plus difficile de forcer le gouvernement à répondre de ses actes concernant une gamme de questions fondamentales. Robert Marleau, commissaire fédéral à l’information, a signalé que l’accès à l’information sur les activités gouvernementales a été restreint. On fait pression sur les diplomates, les directeurs d’agences gouvernementales, les officiers publics, les militaires de haut rang et les scientifiques d'Environnement Canada pour obéir à une loi du silence, et leurs communications avec le public canadien sont censurées.

Le gouvernement a sapé la liberté de la presse en exerçant un contrôle central de l’information disponible aux journalistes. Il a abusé de son droit de proroger le Parlement de façon à éviter de sérieuses allégations selon lesquelles l’armée canadienne serait complice à des actes de torture sur des détenus afghans.

Le gouvernement a pris, tant au niveau domestique qu'à l'intérieur d'importants corps internationaux tels que l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et le Conseil des droits de l'homme des Nations Unies, des positions qui sapent les droits humains essentiels ainsi que les principes environnementaux et universels. Les actions du gouvernement ont fait reculer et ont affaibli des initiatives cruciales en matière de droits internationaux de l'homme telles que la protection mondiale des droits des peuples indigènes, le moratoire international sur la question de la peine de mort, la protection plus efficace des droits humains au Moyen-Orient, la protection contre la torture, les droits des gais et lesbiennes, les droits des femmes et les droits des enfants. Parmi de nombreux exemples navrants, notons celui du jugement de la Cour Suprême du Canada déclarant le Canada responsable de la perpétuation de la violation des droits humains d'Omar Khadr auquel la réponse du gouvernement a été extrêmement inadéquate et source de honte sur la scène internationale.

Dans ce contexte, les institutions démocratiques canadiennes, les organismes de la société civile et les défenseurs des droits humains ont été affaiblis, marginalisés et muselés. Leur capacité de surveiller et de sauvegarder le respect de la démocratie, de la libre expression et des autres droits est en péril. La qualité et la santé de la vie démocratique au Canada est sérieusement menacée.

Unis, nous demandons au Gouvernement du Canada de :

1. Respecter le droit à la liberté d'opinion et d'expression

Par conséquent,

  • Cesser les campagnes de salissage, les licenciements, les coupures de fonds, les menaces subtiles et scandaleuses, les réglementations conçues pour obscurcir et éviter les débats publics, ou toutes autres actions de mauvaise foi faites contre ceux qui s'opposent aux politiques gouvernementales.
  • S’engager à tenir des audiences parlementaires qui abordent les préoccupations très répandues de la perte d’espace démocratique au Canada.

2. Agir en accord avec les traditions et les valeurs démocratiques du Canada

Par conséquent,

  • Promouvoir et supporter activement la diversité politique et le débat public plutôt que de l'éviter.
  • Reconnaître et respecter le rôle vital, l'expertise et la nécessité de l'indépendance des organisations de la société civile.

3. Être transparent

Par conséquent,

  • Démontrer un respect profond et une responsabilité au Parlement du Canada et au peuple canadien.
  • Donner aux Canadiens un accès complet à l'information sur les décisions des politiques publiques.
  • Baser les décisions de financement pour les organisations gouvernementales et de la société civile sur des critères justes, et sur des principes démocratiques plutôt que des actions partisanes.